New Thought, Divine Spark & Ego

BeachOfEden

I really like the positive thinking concept in the New Thought church of Unity...but the the thoing about Unity and New Thought that I could never jive with and just sounds wrong to me is this whole "Divine Spark" thing. This idea that we are all divine or God. I mean, this just sounds so ego-centric..like a..well.. God complexe. Anyone else have any thoughts on this?

Personally I have no knowledge of "New Thought" - nor "New Age" thinking, which may or may not be similar - so just what a divine spark means in such a context I have no idea. Speaking in Christian terms I would say that unless we distinguish between the Person as known only to God - and perhaps not even totally to ourselves - and the empirical/phenomenal ego, then all talk of "divine sparks" will lead inevitable to confusion, even misplaced pride/God complexes.

This is perhaps why the issue of "ego-self" and "person" is a matter of crucial importance for the dialogue between Eastern and Western religion (a point made by Thomas Merton in his essay "Transcendent Experience", from the book "Zen and the Birds of Appetite)

Maybe as a Christian I would tend to remain with the idea of being "made in God's image" and take it from there :D , and perhaps dip a little into Eckhart and St John of the Cross.

In giving us His love God has given us His Holy Spirit so that we can love Him with the love wherewith He loves Himself. We love God with His own love; awareness of it deifies us. (Eckhart)

I had no guide, no light,

save that which burned within my heart.

And yet this light did guide my way

more surely than the noonday sun

unto a place where waited One

who knew me well.

A place where none appeared! (St John of the Cross, from "Dark Night of the Soul")

BOE,

I am also not really very familiar with the New Thought Church of Unity thinking. However, my view does echo tariki's response.