Er... Hi

emilylauren

I am a university student, studying a double major of english and psychology, with a minor in international studies. I am Lutheran, although I do have a love of much of the Anabaptist tradition. I love learning about world religions and cultures and philosophy. I oftentimes think I'm smarter than I really am, and need to keep reminding myself that I am just as human as everyone else. I spend far too much time on the internet and have a love of all things geeky-- especially Doctor Who and Star Trek. I'm learning french and hope to be fluent and my roomate is teaching me Chinese... and as much as it pains me, I know I will never be fluent. But I can say "I can cook a meal", "Hurry up, were going to be late", various insults and "I love you, do you love me?" So, should I ever get lost in China, I think I could find a way to survive. :P

It was not until last year that I really began to question much of my faith-- and without getting into too long of a story I will just say that last year was particularly rocky for me. There were times when I really questioned whether I still believed in God, and considered myself something of an agnostic deist for a while. When I did believe in God, it was more of an angry belief. It was a painful process, questioning something as important as your religious beliefs always is (or should be), but it is something I am glad for because I feel like I am closer to God now than I ever was before. There are still many things I question, and I can say that more often than not I am struggling and wresting with God about things... but I think I am now at a point in my life where I can start picking up the pieces and reconstruct my Christian faith-- and I am glad to have found a place where others are on the same journey.