Hope - An Action Of Creative Transformation

This article was taken from here

ARTICLE

Hope - An Action of Creative Transformation

By Fred Plumer

Just a year or so after I graduated from college, I learned that one of my favorite high school teachers had cancer and was very sick. I had very fond memories of this particular teacher. She was one of those you never forget. She was a demanding task master but managed to be fun and funny at the same time. She could make grammar not only seem important but actually make it seem interesting. She would write long responses on our returned papers that had as much to do with how we might live our lives as it did with the content of the paper. Most of all, no matter where you were as a student, you knew she cared about you.

She always seemed to have an upbeat attitude, even when she gave you a bad grade. She just believed that you were going to do better next time and we usually did. She had a huge impact on students, not only from what we learned from the assigned books and our essays, but what we learned from her attitude about life. When I thought I was heading for teaching as a profession, in my early years, she was the teacher I wanted to be.

When I found out that the cancer was in an advanced stage, I realized that I needed to visit her. I was not certain what I was going to find but I knew I wanted to tell her what a positive impact she had had on my life. My first visit was the hardest and I was a little shocked when I saw her depleted body. She quickly put me at ease by saying: "It doesn't look good, Freddy, but don't worry, I still have hope."

I assumed that she knew something I did not know and that she was going to get better. I saw her a few more times over the next couple of months. Each time she would say the same thing when I would arrive. And when I was getting ready to leave, she would often chuckle and say, "Don't give up on me now, Freddy."