Newbie With A Question

Hi, all! Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Chad, I'm 23 years old, and somewhat eclectic in my religious beliefs. If you'd like details, feel free to ask, or perhaps I'll divulge more later when I have some time and get to know people better.

My deal is this: I'm a recent college graduate who still lives with his family of strict Southern Baptists. I do not feel I can stay at that church much longer, as the older and wiser I get, the less I can tolerate dogma. I think I may start looking for a church different from that of my parents. I'm a member of the Unitarian Universalist Church of the Larger Fellowship(parents don't know), but I can't go to a 'brick and mortar' UU church because (a) living with my parents would be intolerable if I went to a church that was *that* liberal, and ( b ) I don't leave near one anyways. So I'm looking for a church that is not necessarily as liberal as UU, but not as fundamentalist as Southern Baptist - a kind of 'happy medium' where I can still get spiritually fed until I move out on my own (I live in NC, and next year I'm moving to Chicago). My question is: what are some of the more liberal Christian denominations? I'm having a hard time finding info about that. I know there's United Church of Christ, but the nearest one is a large distance away.

Edited by Eclectic Chad

It depends on just how "knowledgeable" or savvy your folks are as to whether they would necessarily be "fooled" by such things. I have the same problem with my sister. She does know (I think) about UCC but not about Congregationalists. It is easier from me to pretend with her, I don't like it, but my life is definitely easier than consistently being "witnessed to".