Fasting

MOW

I wasn't sure where to put this, so I put it in the same section as the thread on meditation.

I was wondering if anyone here has ever tried fasting? Many years ago I tried a Ramadan like fast during Lent i.e. not eating any solid food until after sundown. I only lasted two days. I don't think I was mentally prepared.

My background is UMC and I know John Wesley practiced fasting.

MOW

I've fasted for medical reasons, but not for spiritual ones.

After 3 days, hormonal changes kick in and really help with appetite and energy. The important things to remember are to stay hydrated (I certainly wouldn't do a water free fast) and to come off of the fast slowly (drinking juice, eating puried fruits and veggies for the first couple of days).

At this point in my life I don't think I'd do a food fast. I think I'd sacrifice a single something very important to me from my diet (like chocolate ;) ) or from my life (like TV or the car) for a period of time (more like Lent).

I haven't really tried fasting either, nor have I known anyone well enough who practiced it regularly so that I could obtain a clear opinion on it from someone who had first-hand experience of its effects. I do know that it takes large amounts of self-discipline to achieve spiritual results.

However I have done some general reading on it and as mentioned above it modifies the body's chemical balances in significant enough ways to create brain activities that are not of the ordinary types. As I understand it, aside from the longing for visceral satisfaction, states of euphoria may be experienced, as well as profound sadness, and in some situations hallucinogenic effects. All of these would fall into the category of altering perceptions of the individual sufficiently so that they might be open to spiritual experiences not usually available to one with a satisfied belly and normal blood chemistry.