I'm new here

John Hunt

so as requested - a little background. I'm 67 and live in Hampshire, UK - though think of myself as half-American - went to school for a while in Minneapolis, worked a number of years for a US publishing company, and have been there dozens of times, seeing more of America than most Americans. Actually, I love the USA, which is not fashionable in Europe nowadays. I studied at Oxford University, set up my own publishing business nearly forty years ago, and have recently taken a back seat - I do a little writing and a lot of gardening. It's given me time to explore the internet a bit, I've followed the Christianity section on Quora for a few months, but find the level of comment there a bit dispiriting, so am looking for something else.

Spiritually, I grew up in an evangelical family which included a number of ministers, and was heavily involved in missionary organizations like the Navigators in my teens. Nowadays, I occasionally go to Quaker or Unitarian services, but more often to the local parish church. Been happily married for almost 40 years, and have two great boys (adults now, I suppose). 

Johnagain.jpg

Hi John! Welcome to the community. We're glad you're here. 

I didn't even know they had a Christianity section on Quora. I should check that out. Do the answers come mostly from an evangelical perspective there?

When you say "local parish" what denomination are you referring to? Just curious. 

Also, can you share what you are hoping to find here (or elsewhere on the web)? I'm interested in hearing where your spiritual quest is taking you. 

Hi John,

Welcome to the forum.  We’re a mish mash from around the globe here - I’m in Australia myself.  We’re also a mish mash of different beliefs, ranging from the odd evangelical through to atheists, and many different degrees in between.  I hope you enjoy participating here and find our little forum useful in your journey. 

Cheers

Paul

Hi John,