Advice?

Hi,

I'm a UCC seminary student entering my third and final year. I was reading people like Spong and Borg and Carter Heyward before I went to seminary and was excited by the idea of being part of the progressive Christianity movement. The seminary has certainly been a supportive environment for exploring these ideas, but I'm worried about ordination and employment now. It seems that even in the supposedly "progressive" UCC, a lot of old-fashioned theological/christological ideas are still the norm. I for one can't subscribe to any of the traditional creedal beliefs, but I draw from some of the basic wisdom of the Christian tradition.

I worry that I will have to compromise my true views in order to maintain employment. I am afraid that it is hard to get a position at the most progressive congregations within the denomination. My pastor is a TCPC type and has been very encouraging. (She was at the Re-imagining Conference.) She thinks I should start a church from scratch, which to me doesn't seem like a realistic idea at all.

I've thought about making a break for the UUA. (I used to belong to a UU church.) But this isn't my preference.

Thoughts? Ideas? Encouragement? I'm especially interested to hear mentor-ly advice from clergy people.

Grace and Peace.

It seems that even in the supposedly "progressive" UCC, a lot of old-fashioned theological/christological ideas are still the norm. I for one can't subscribe to any of the traditional creedal beliefs, but I draw from some of the basic wisdom of the Christian tradition.

I don't think you can realistically expect any denomination to completely shed all vestiges of a traditional theological perspective, without losing its Christian identity altogether. The UUA has pretty much done this, and I presume that's a lot of the reason you're hesitant to go back that way.