Hi From Central Europe

Bingle

Just to introduce myself. I am British, though having lived away in many different cultures for over twenty years. The last ten I have spent in the Czech Republic. Back in the UK I once had a strong Christian faith based in the Anglican church, I guess the more evangelical wing. I drifted away because I kept stumbling intellectually and practically with how so many of the claims of 'truth' I came across just didn't add up. Although my spirituality didn't go away I found I agreed with much of what strongly anti-religious people said. I didn't really make much effort to explore further and kind of shut that part of my life down. I am delighted to discover progressive Christianity as I feel I have an opportunity to develop a faith that makes sense to me and which I can live fully. But I am just beginning.

I am looking forward to being involved here and thanks to everyone who runs this site.

B.

• Upvote 1

Welcome Bingle,

I wish I had known about progressive Christianity all those years ago when I abandoned my faith for similiar reasons you touch on - it might have saved me a lot of grief and angst. I'm glad you've found this forum and I look forward to your participation here.

Cheers

Paul

Greetings Bingle,