Great To Find Ya

chriscargill

Hello,

I made my name very easy for you - Chris.

I have been studying conservative and fundamentalist christian apoloetics articles and debates. I have come to a great many conclusions which I have been documenting. I still have some more work to do with this.

6 years ago, I graduated from a Christian university with my B.A. in Biblicial Studies. I have been a middle school special education teacher since then.

The second semester of my senior year, I began looking up some of the resources my professors in philosophy of religions and world religions classes recommended to challenge us. I went beyond that, and the more I researched, the less the bible and its contents made sense. That's not to say I had not already been questioning, and in fact, wrote and delivered my senior year honor's program symposium research paper on homosexuality as described throughout the New Testament.

Long, long story short, I became an atheist and then an atheistic-leaning agnostic. I held a copious amount of hatred for religion.

As I was listening to old Four Horsemen of Atheism - Christian debates and working on a project, I couldn't help but hear the Christians winning. I, of course, thought this was probably a mistake so I sat down and watched and listened exclusively to the debates. Indeed, the Christians had better arguments and a more holistic worldview, I felt. So here I am. I come to this forum with many of my own theological and biblical beliefs, very unlike anything I learned in school. The one thing that is always present and that guides me is critical thinking. I love and miss my professors. I very nearly went straight into missionary work and to earn a Masters degree, but I did not. And I have no regrets about that given the timing.