New To The Forum, Former Fundamentalist

Veratatis

Hello everyone,

I'm new here. I became born again at 16, struggled with several crises of faith for a couple of years, and was introduced to liberal theology roughly a year ago while taking a class on Jewish history and the history of the OT. My definition of God probably differs from most here, so I'll try to explain it. I don't believe that God is love, I believe that love is a sufficient word. To me, God is the sum total of all laws which bind this universe together. The same God which Einstein believed in. In a sense, I'm a pantheist. I take great value from Jesus' life, I'm convinced he wasn't God, and I'm unsure regarding the resurrection. I think the Bible is a collection of stories and history blended together by ancient Jewish and early Christian communities, and is not divinely inspired.

I'm a musician and I'm fascinated with the prospect of space travel. So... Hi.

• Upvote 1

Welcome Veratatis,

I think you'll find a very diverse range of views here concerning God - in fact many people's view of God differs amongst others here! :)

I hope you enjoy I here and nook forward to your participation and readin your views further.

Cheers

Paul

Welcome, Veratatis. You and I share a somewhat similar background and maybe some similar views.

I think you're correct that all of our definitions of God and God-talk is manmade, but what else can we do? Some might say that because we do not and cannot know, we should remain silent. For me, I just think we should be aware of the tendency and then be humble about our claims.

As a deist, I would agree with Spong that God is not manmade. But I'm not convinced that Spong thinks of God as a being or entity. I tend to relate to God as a "Thou" external from myself but nonetheless present with us. But that is me.