Introducing Myself

John Ryan

Hallo everyone.

I am a 22-year-old college student, who will be starting an M.A. in politics at NYU in the Fall. I have a profound interest in philosophy and theology, as well as politics (obviously), sociology and economics. At the age of sixteen, I de-converted from Christianity and became an atheist, due to a lack of evidence for God, and because of the absurdities of Christian Orthodoxy/Fundamentalism. However, over the past six months or so, I have slowly returned to the Christian faith, and now consider myself something of a Progressive Christian, or Christian Agnostic. I never know how to write introductions, so I figure I will briefly describe my re-conversion story:

After spending six years as an atheist, I started reading more philosophy, and began to feel a sense of wonder at the Universe and Existence. At the time I was horribly depressed after losing my best friend (since I fell in love with her and she did not feel the same, it destroyed the friendship), and life seemed hopeless. Yet, I kept having these little moments of what felt like the sublime. I began to pray again, asking the God I did not believe in that if He is real, to reveal Himself to me.

I am one of the few heterosexual males who is not attracted to lesbianism. For me, lesbianism is just adorable and uber-cute. It is like it strips away all my own sexual desires, and when I read a story about it or watch a film about it, I feel like I can see unadulterated pure love. Crazy I know, but bear with me. So, I noticed that after reading different lesbian romance stories that I would often feel this overwhelming sense of love - a sense of the subliminal. At this time I was still an atheist, but I wanted to explore this further.