creation and evolution

Mike

Hi all,

This is a rather unusually topic for me to get into, as the creation/evolution debate isn't something I've taken much interest in over the years. I'm not sure if I'm a 'creationist' even in the broadest sense of the term -- I suppose I am inclined to think in terms of a Whiteheadian 'creativity'.

I'm also not inclined to deny the validity of evolutionary theory, since it seems to have great explanatory power and continually amasses evidence in its favor. The current evidence seems to strongly suggest that we did evolve, though I'm not sure it has any conclusions as to how we evolved. This, of course, is a field ripe for debate and speculation. Theistic evolution sees teleology -- purpose and mindfulness -- in evolution, whereas what most people mean by evolution is a process explained entirely in terms of mindless mechanism. I'm not really in any position to say which is the case, since I have no knowledge in biology other than some general college coursework.