Grace And Faith

anna

Hi, I'm new to Christianity as well as the boards. I think I've got an easy question, and if anyone is interested in replying, I'd appreciate it.

So...the question is, Does the receipt of Grace require faith and/or the belief in God?

Hi, I'm new to Christianity as well as the boards. I think I've got an easy question, and if anyone is interested in replying, I'd appreciate it.

So...the question is, Does the receipt of Grace require faith and/or the belief in God?

hi anna, welcome to the boards. As far as your question is concerned, I'm not so sure its an easy one. Unfortunately, when the "answer" has been defined by various denominations, it has led to disputes. My own answer is that grace is the reality in which we live and move and have our being. It is "given", total and complete gift, and we were chosen "before the foundation of the world" (Ephesians), thus nothing we can do can make God love us more, nothing we can do can make God love us less. As far as "time and space" is concerned, undoubtably grace awaits our recognition and awareness of it, yet - at least for me - it is the recognition/awareness of that which is eternally.

I do not see "religion" or "faith" as a means to an end, the end being "salvation". "Religion", instead, becomes the way to express gratitude for the compassion that supports all our life.

:)

Does the receipt of Grace require faith and/or the belief in God?