Another Spong Forum Member

kayatl

I feel like I just went from a small elementary school to a large regional high school. A few of the faces are familiar but most are strange.

A little bit about me:

I live in Atlanta, Georgia. My primary interests are medicine, religion, and music(specifically Joan Baez), and community building. I have been a nurse for over 30 years in a variety of settings, mostly hospital and agency. I love nursing and would even encourage my daughter(if I had one) to become a nurse. I have always worked in the "soft areas" like newborn nursery and home care instead of the "hard areas" like ICU or management.I am currently unemployed and am considering retirement or perhaps working for myself as an elder care advocate, provider of respite care, and general "errand woman" for MD appointments, grocery shopping, etc.

I consider myself a "recovering theist" after reading such religious writers as John Shelby Spong and Marcus Borg. I am greatly entertained by the "trinity of atheists", Dawkins, Kitchens, and Miller. Although my church is my main social outlet, and Christianity my major subject for religious reading, I am branching out into meditation and yoga. the most important musical happening in the last 7 years has been rediscovering Joan Baez. Of course I loved her in the 60's, who didn't. I saw that she was giving a concert in the Variety Playhouse, real near where I live. I found her video of "Stones in the Road" which gave me a hint of the present day Joan, but I wasn't able to find it again. I went to her concert in '03 or '04 and have been a "Joan head" ever since! I live in a cohousing community which is an intentional community based on principles formulated in Denmark in the 70's I am looking forward to participating in this forum.

Welcome kayati,