Introducing New Member Micah

JosephM

Hi,

I was really enthusiastic when I came across your website on Barbara Brown Taylors website. It seems both your organization and Barbara have something in common with me... a desire to find something more in the process of finding a path of my own. I've been a Christian my whole life, but my thoughts and belief structure have changed, grown, and blossomed over the years. I've alawys been a member of the United Church of Christ and going back the years, my family was and old "E&R" (evangelical & reformed) and before that Reformed. I grew up in the church and our local congregation was pretty conservative as were my parents. I attended a non-denominational christian school that my father helped establish, but it was truly a very very conservative school. So much so that the teachings I was following in church (and even those given by my parents) suddenly started to "not add up" with what I was being taught in school. After I graduated I had an oportiunity to become more immersed in the UCC and discovered the wonderful freedom of believeing that in some way God is always in our corner. "No matter who we are or where we are on lifes journey... as the UCC ad states." This really was the beginning of my newly developing faith. Unfortunately the local church wasn't quite as in tune with this as I was, and after a stint on my local church board and even a portion of time as President, I found out pretty quickly waht the local church thought of all this stuff. I had had enough, and wasn't sure where to turn. Always searching for another place and another way to feel included. I have stayed very active in the national church and serve on their Wider Church Ministries Board of Directors. It's exciting to be a part of a group that is so into what they believe! But even there, we find polotics. I need a place to explore my faith further... a safe place where no one really does play polotics. Where it doesn't matter if you are democrat o