Question About Sin

SaintJK

Hi Everyone,

I would like to get your thoughts/opinions on the subject of sin. I’m new to TCPC and couldn’t find anything about sin in the 8 Points.

According to a recent discussion that I had with friends on the topic of sin we basically came to the conclusion that there are 2 types of sin. There is habitual sin, as is defined in 1 John 3: 4-9 (Amplified):

4 Everyone who commits (practices) sin is guilty of lawlessness; for [that is what] sin is, lawlessness (the breaking, violating of God's law by transgression or neglect--being unrestrained and unregulated by His commands and His will).

6 No one who abides in Him [who lives and remains [e]in communion with and in obedience to Him--deliberately, knowingly, and [f]habitually] commits (practices) sin. No one who [habitually] sins has either seen or known Him [recognized, perceived, or understood Him, or has had an experiential acquaintance with Him].

8 [but] he who commits sin [who practices evildoing] is of the devil [takes his character from the evil one], for the devil has sinned (violated the divine law) from the beginning. The reason the Son of God was made manifest (visible) was to undo (destroy, loosen, and dissolve) the works the devil [has done].

9 No one born (begotten) of God [deliberately, knowingly, and [h]habitually] practices sin, for God's nature abides in him [His principle of life, the divine ######, remains permanently within him]; and he cannot practice sinning because he is born (begotten) of God.

And there is sin that we do every now and then when we fall or cannot resist temptation. When we sin in this way, we repent and carry on with our relationship with God.

In the conversation it was mentioned that habitual sin cuts us off from God, because the above verses clearly state that we cannot practice sinning and be acquainted with God.