Greetings From Mike

michael

Greetings everyone!

My name is Michael Smith, I live in Pendleton, Indiana and am a student at Bethany Theological Seminary in Richmond, Indiana - Church of the Brethren, I also work as an Urban Planner. I have had quite the spiritual journey that has led me to this point in life and Progressive Christianity seems to fit my personal theology very well. My background is varied - began in Christianity then moved to Greek Orthodox ... then to New Age ... then to Spiritualism ... then to Buddhism ... then finally back to Christianity in the form of the Church of the Brethren. I even worked as a psychic and trance medium for a time in a new age shop! My previous experiences came about a result of feeling that something was amiss in my Christian faith (very conservative early on). I had the feeling that something was missing and after a time of searching and personal discovery I found that - for the most part - fear of what I did not know (spiritually) caused me to miss out on many opportunities to serve God in my life. In the words of a friend, “I just could not completely buy what they were feeding me.” When I first became, what I believed to be a "true" Christian, I modeled what saw in others of the faith. Because of my dogmatic attitude, I was (though unintentional) often condemning and condescending of others who did not believe what I believed. I have come a long way in a period of about twelve years , now settled in a good career (that may change), happily married and father of the worlds most beautiful little two year old. I am studying to work in ministry in some fashion though not quite sure how that will all pan out - leave it up to God to guide and direct me I suppose.