By Calling Ourselves Progressive ...

Anglocatholic

So, I have been here for just a short time, and have been interested to see what other people's approaches are, and in particular whether the tolerance levels of this place are rather more broad than those of other faith message boards.

They are, but not for the right reasons.

I agree with the general content of the 8 points of PC, but nonetheless I am now at the position of concluding that I am not a progressive. The reason for this is that my understanding of the Church, by which I do not mean any one denomination, but the church as a whole, is that it is a body of believers, each of whom has a part to play, and each of whom is equally valued and equally valid. We each have a time to speak and a time to listen; a time to love and a time to be loved.

This is, sadly, not what I have found here. What I have found is a collection of people behaving in a very narcissistic fashion, each of whom is gazing fondly into his or her own navel, and expecting the rest to stand in awe of their unique revelation of the world. This would be fine - there are lots of narcissists all over the world doing very nicely. The problem is, nobody is providing support to anyone else. It is 'look at me', 'no, look at me', 'no, look at me', everywhere.

"By calling ourselves progressive, we mean that we are Christians who have found an approach to God through the life and teachings of Jesus."

Very narcissistic of 'us'. Who cares, in the end, what we call ourselves? What matters is what God calls us; the focus is totally and completely 100% the wrong way round.