what is progressive Christianity?

I consider myself a "progressive Christian".   I am an Evangelical Lutheran and I support the full inclusion of gays in the life of the Church, and I also do not believe being politically "pro-life" is a litmus test for Christian discipleship (in this respect, I'm very much in line with my denomination's own social statements).  But beyond that, I am very much a traditional, creedal sort of Christian, as are most Lutherans I know. 

So in one sense, I do see myself as a progressive Christian relative to American evangelicalism with its moralism, biblicism, and politicization of religion, but on the other hand, I am not a progressive Christian by the standards of this site- of espousing theological liberalism.  Yet I think there are far more folks like me out there in churches than there are Christians who are essentially wedded to theological liberalism.

So what really is "progressive Christianity"?

Edited by FireDragon76

6 hours ago, FireDragon76 said:

I consider myself a "progressive Christian".   I am an Evangelical Lutheran and I support the full inclusion of gays in the life of the Church, and I also do not believe being politically "pro-life" is a litmus test for Christian discipleship (in this respect, I'm very much in line with my denomination's own social statements).  But beyond that, I am very much a traditional, creedal sort of Christian, as are most Lutherans I know. 

So in one sense, I do see myself as a progressive Christian relative to American evangelicalism with its moralism, biblicism, and politicization of religion, but on the other hand, I am not a progressive Christian by the standards of this site- of espousing theological liberalism.  Yet I think there are far more folks like me out there in churches than there are Christians who are essentially wedded to theological liberalism.