Hello, What's Your Favourite Atonement Theory?

Phil

Dear all,

Greetings!

Why I am here: last summer I graduated from university and fell headlong into the free-market utopia that is the present-day British economy. Oops! Between brief, intermittent flirts with employment I have chiefly spent my time contemplating Jesus, Scripture and process theology; trying to connect the spiritual dots.

What sorts of views do persons here hold regarding the nature of Jesus' death (and possible resurrection?) Any responses or links to relevant threads would be really appreciated. ^_^

Shalom,

Phil

Phil, Shalom. I hope between encounters with the free-market, you will join our discussions.

Some here might be interested in learning a little more about your faith background and path.

Also, it might be well to start another thread to discuss the question you posed. Or, you might add your thoughts to some previous discussions like these:

http://tcpc.ipbhost....__hl__atonement

http://tcpc.ipbhost....ment#entry31488

http://tcpc.ipbhost....__hl__atonement

George

I am an ardent supporter of the Christus Victor model of atonement. Satisfaction theory and penal substitution remove the good news from the gospel. God becomes the enemy of humankind, since it is His judgement that poses the greatest existential threat to the human experience. Rather than being the One we should be afraid of, God and Jesus are liberators in the Christus Victor model. Sin is understood as chains which bond us to the evil of this world, and through Christ we are freed from being a slave to evil.

I highly recommend reading Derek Flood's Penal Substitution vs. Christus Victor. It is the best primer to Christus Victor I have come across. I am not going to lie, it is lengthy, but honestly it is so worth it.

Edited by John Ryan

John,