Sometimes, It's So Hard To Be Kind!

I hate to admit this, but deep down, sometimes I have difficulty being kind when people are irritating me or making me frustrated. I'm not a person who's prone to real "anger" very often, but I do struggle with patience sometimes. I get irritated and I can't always hide it, and then I feel bad after.

A great example of this is my job. I'm a teacher (adult ESL) and most of my students are totally awesome. There are always a couple, though, who push every button I have. It is very frustrating to deal with these people, and no matter how much I try to focus on my tasks, remind myself of their struggles, tell myself to just not be so short with them, sometimes I can't help it.

I'm not saying these people are always innocent - it's frustrating as an educator to have people in your class who just really don't care, especially when they don't take any steps to even *hide* their lack of interest. However, while I'm not responsible for their actions, I am responsible for mine.

I just finished up with one of my most frustrating cases. (I should add - I work one-to-one over the internet instead of in a traditional classroom setting). She is a good person but definitely one of my flightier students. Whenever we have our classes, I find myself biting my tongue, or else being so fake-cheerful that I even irritate myself.

When faced with this type of situation, how do you cope? We are called to love all people and not judge them but show them kindness, and yet sometimes it's just so difficult.

(Before anyone asks: yes, we have policies in place for students to handle issues of attendance, homework completion, and attitude problems...this student isn't actually doing anything that falls under any of those policieis.)