New Here Today

MelodyAM75

Hi. My name is Melody and I am new here today. I live in Mississippi where most Christians are fundamental in their beliefs. My parents did not attend church so I only sporadically went to church as a child and teenager. I became involved with The Salvation Army church when I was teenager and even considered joining their ministry. I have always had quesions about the Bible and how churches have interpreted the Bible. In college, I took a comparitive religion course with Clayton Sullivan who is the author of books such as Rescuing Jesus from the Christians and he really opened my eyes to a lot that Christians take for granted as "truth" because of what the churches teach.

I seldom attend any church now, but often my children want to go because that's what their friends do, but I have a hard time reconciling my progressive beliefs with fundamental church beliefs. I am a special education teacher and I share an office with two other teachers, one of whom is a Baptist preacher's wife, and when I say things to her like I believe the Bible was written, recopied, and translated by men who could have easily made changes/mistakes or when I say to her that I don't believe non-Christians are going straight to hell, she gets upset with me and just says I am reading the Bible wrong and then offers to pray for me. I, on the other hand, think I should be the one who should be praying for her and others who have such rigid beliefs.