Grampawombat

grampawombat

I joined this group about three years ago, but at that time Beliefnet was much easier to navigate, so I didn't come back here. Now B'net is every bit as complicated as this or moreso, and has been sold off to the Murdoch publishing empire, so here I am and will probably stay.

I am 72, married 47 years, with three children and eight grandchildren. I like the look of wombats, though I can't say for sure that I have actually seen a live one. I was born Episcopal, married Presbyterian, retired U U for a short time, then UCC, and now that we have moved to Ann Arbor, we (my wife and I) are Presbyterians again. We belong to a More Light congregation (equality in membership and participation without discriminating on the basis of gender orientation and so on), that also emphasizes peacemaking and social justice. So we are happy here, though the denomination (PCUSA), Protestantism, and Christianity in general vex me from time to time.

I worked as a microwave engineer for about 38 years and have been retired for almost 10. In the 1980s I did part-time graduate work in sociology of religion, thinking that perhaps I would teach in that area, but that didn't work out.

My beliefs have been influenced by liberation theology and process theology. I'm still working on my member profile here and hope to have a statement of my beliefs there sometime soon.

I joined this group about three years ago, but at that time Beliefnet was much easier to navigate, so I didn't come back here. Now B'net is every bit as complicated as this or moreso, and has been sold off to the Murdoch publishing empire, so here I am and will probably stay.