What Is Oneness?

angel

Hello, everybody, I'm very new to Progressive Christianity, I am enthusiast about it and I'm trying to make my ideas clear. My question is: in what consists the "Oneness" mentioned in point 1 "Believe that following the path and teachings of Jesus can lead to an awareness and experience of the Sacred and the Oneness and Unity of all life"? What makes life "One", instead that "many" or "plural"? I agree with most of postmodern philosophy, I like very much the fact that Progressive Christianity does not base itself on dogmas; but the concept of "Oneness", to which a progressive christian is required to believe, seems exactly a dogma: not clear, not revelated, but nonetheless it is required to believe in it. What is bad in thinking that no oneness exists in this world? Who could guarantee that the concept of oneness that one progressive christian has in his mind really corresponds to that of another progressive christian?

I don't believe PC is as regulated as other religions and religious groups and subsequently there is no 'requirement' to believe anything really should you wish to call yourself a Progressive Christian. My interpretation of the 8 points is not that they are dogm, but more an expression of what many PCs find compelling about Christianity without the dogma that has developed that 'does' require certain beliefs. I guess in short, there's a lot more around Point 1 and the 8 points concerning PC than what the points themselves specifically try to capture.

For my own point of view, I interpret the Oneness of life as identifying that we did all come from the same stardust and big-bang mechanics as everything else in this Universe (as far as we are aware). I'm not sure how sacred I regard that but I can appreciate that as 'One' us earthlings rely on each other for fulfillment and community, often incorporating animals and nature into this situation to create a Oneness here on Earth.