Does Christianity Have Any Real Meaning?

ritch81

As a rookie I'm going to jump in feet first.I think the first question to be answered in this day and age of supposed enlightenment is the whether the label "Christian or Christianity" has any real meaning. I myself struggled with whether I'd become an Atheist or Agnostic. The latter came closest; I settled on "Orthodox Skeptic"; which basically interprets to me knowing that there had to be somebody or something to push the start button. Now what label you want to put on him is up to you. One thing is for certain...He ain't some kindly old, white bearded grandpa sitting on a marble throne listening 24/7 to choirs of angels singing his praises.

Christianity derives from Christ who was head and shoulders above any of the Elmer Gantry TV evangelists when it came to selling his program. But since we are now aware of the fact that we really don't know who he was or what his true agenda was, why do some many want to go right on crediting him with being all those things in the boy scout oath...you know...brave, clean, reverent, etc? We know that Christ was a man who put his pants on one leg at a time...like me an' you...so?

The first 5 posts moved here by JosephM(as Moderator} as inappropriate for the Progressive Christianity section that requires only those who identify as PC and asks the question posed which was "Just What is Progressive Christianity to you" and is not for debate..

Edited by JosephM

Christianity derives from Christ who was head and shoulders above any of the Elmer Gantry TV evangelists when it came to selling his program. But since we are now aware of the fact that we really don't know who he was or what his true agenda was, why do some many want to go right on crediting him with being all those things in the boy scout oath...you know...brave, clean, reverent, etc? We know that Christ was a man who put his pants on one leg at a time...like me an' you...so?

Richard,