Ilia Delio

glintofpewter

Ilia Delio: Okay. There’s two things you should know upfront. I come from the Franciscan tradition and we are very incarnation-centered. Our way of life is really seeking Christ in the world and Christ in all things. I’m a scientist by training actually. Spent about over twenty years studying science, from a biology major and up to a doctorate in Pharmacology. I was in brain and spinal cord research before I heard the call and left the world of scientific research for religious life.—actually for a cloistered monastery. [Laughter] I spent four years in a very strict traditional monastery—learned the art of prayer and how to plant a vegetable garden at the same time. [Laughter]

Ilia: Right!. It’s interesting that Augustine spoke of love as the weight of the soul and you can speak of love as the gravity of the soul. As physical gravity bends the space-time fabric of the earth, intense love bends the soul and opens it up to more love or to more relationship. We’re rather stuck when you go back to this dichotomy between science and religion. We’re stuck on an upper, a more superficial level of intellectual ideas, but the science and religion dialogue as a dialogue, needs to go deeper into that place of love. In other words, that gravity of the soul in the universe that is metaphorically moving the sun and the stars, is also moving people toward one another

You can, then, see the whole evolutionary process as a cruciform process, the cross spread out over fourteen billion years of evolution. Despite the forces of resistance, this movement higher or this movement forwards, towards unity, is the struggle upward to the great YES, to greater unity. The desire from within the human heart, and from within the heart of the cosmos for greater unity is, today, an evolutionary turning point—we’re at a transitional point where the evolutionary push is towards greater unity.