Sticky Questions...

ada

1. Can you think of a type of person who might make you uncomfortable if one sat next to you during a church service?

Nothing other than problems with physical body odor or perfumes or excessive smoking odors (I have lung problems, so "fumes" like that would make me fairly uncomfortable).

2. What would you be willing to change in your church if it meant making more people feel welcomed or comfortable? Music? Order of worship? Style or time of worship? Number of services?

I'm a musician, so I have to whole-heartedly jump on the "Music" suggestion.

Well, with regard to most of the churches I've been in (which have primarily been Catholic and Anglican)... I really wish the Music would be done on a piano, not an organ -- and maybe add in some other instruments if we could ever find congregation members who can play instruments that is. Or even if the Organ sound can be turned to a piano sound.. the Organ music does not exactly make younger people fall in love with the Church I'm sorry to say. And I really think that is the kind of person we need to get more of into the church (especially our church.. not that I don't love the older folks).

I'm a musician, and even I find the Organ sound a bit grinding. I'd much rather hear a piano, preferably a real piano and not an electronic facsimile (unless it's an extremely good board.. that's the technical musician in me of course). There is one song I've heard where the Organ is turned to some kind of trumpet sound.. I physically cringe at that. Every musical fibre in my body wants to fight that sound...